(Mr Lim Teck Yin (third from left), CEO of Sport Singapore, Mr Samuel Tsien (centre), CEO of OCBC Bank, Mr Ignatius Low (third from right), Managing Editor of The Straits Times, and The Sportive Girls posing for a picture after successfully officiating the launch of OCBC Cycle 2015 at OCBC Centre on Monday Morning. )


Cycling enthusiasts at the brand new OCBC Cycle 2015 will be in for a treat, as a new high-speed, spectator-friendly race format called the OCBC Cycle Speedway Championships is unveiled. It promises to be a favourite among participants and fans alike!



Comprising the OCBC Cycle Speedway Club Championship and the OCBC Cycle Speedway SEA Championship, this new relay-format race category is part of the inaugural OCBC Cycle 2015. It will debut on Saturday, August 29th, at the Singapore Sports Hub, and will see the best riders from the region – as well as top athletes from the local cycling clubs – pit their skills against one another.



The new format will see four-cyclist teams ride a total of 10 laps in pairs around a fast 1km course. The first two cyclists will ride five laps before the second pairing finishes off the remaining laps. To derive the official race timing, a team is clocked from the start to when its third rider crosses the finish line.

The OCBC Cycle Speedway SEA Championship will see teams from Southeast Asian nations battling out in two qualifying heats, each pitting five teams against each other. The top three teams from each heat will progress to the semifinal, where the six teams will battle it out in a single round to determine the three finalists. The finalists will then face off to determine which team will be crowned the Champion of Southeast Asia, taking home a cash prize of S$6,000. The second and third-placed finishers will win S$4,000 and S$2,000 respectively.

In the OCBC Cycle Speedway Club Championship race, a total of 15 local cycling teams will compete in a similar format. There will be three qualifying heats involving five teams each, with the top two teams in each heat will progress to the semifinal. Cash prizes of S$800, S$600 and S$400, will be awarded to the 1st, 2nd and 3rd placed teams respectively. The three winning teams will also receive Vertix Velo wireless cycling headsets worth $268 each.

The winners from both championships will be invited to ride in Sunday’s Champions Wave at the head of the mass-participation Sportive Ride. 


More details about OCBC Cycle 2015 can be found on www.ocbccycle.com 


All infiormation by OCBC Cycle